Remoting or Web Services, How Do I Decide?

Consulting is at times enlightening and at other times torturous. It is enlightening when I meet smart people and get to work on a diverse and interesting range of problems. It is torture when my participation comes long after painful decisions have already been made or sound advice has been ignored because of groupthink. This is the same kind of torture parents must feel when their kids make mistakes—experimenting with drugs, neglecting their studies, or forgetting to look both ways when crossing a street—that they have tried to help them avoid.

This is a main reason I write year after year. As a writer, I like to imagine that adoring readers follow most, if not all, of the advice in my columns and consequently steer clear of trouble. In that advisory spirit, I intended this article to help you decide when to use XML Web services versus when to use .NET remoting. The choice is actually quite easy: Choose XML Web services almost all of the time. That’s it. What? Don’t believe me? Need justification? Okay, read on.

Understanding Your Choice

XML Web services are an implementation of .NET remoting. This means when you use XML Web services, you are really using .NET remoting. In fact, XML Web services are an easy way to use marshal-by-value .NET remoting.

XML Web services also are perfectly suited for many purposes because they are easy to produce, configure, deploy, and consume. I suspect this functionality will motivate Microsoft to bury remoting permanently.

When to Use .NET Remoting

Occasionally, using remoting directly makes sense. The following basic guidelines specify when it is the right choice:

• Your distributed solution will be used by an internal customer.
  • You need two-way communications between client and server.
  • You have to work with large amounts of data, and serialization and transporting these large objects would result in terrible performance.